Reflection

DSC05849

I hadn’t considered it much before reviews last night, but as I reflect on my final product for our first project, I cant help but wish to have done more in three dimensions.  The photo above shows the dimensionality of my own project that I had thought, before last night,was an adequate way to address the Z axis in a tiling system, but the reviewers didn’t agree and, though I would argue that the relationships at play are a little more complex then I made clear, I think they made a great point.

Of course, after reviews when I was able to step back from the project and think reflectively on what we all had just done I came across these lights that made me just want to pull my hair out in frustration at my own lack of imagination and tunnel vision during this project.

puzzle light style2 puzzlelightshapes-S

These puzzle lights, which I am ashamed to say I had actually encountered before this project, use a super simple system of tiles which vary in size to create a diverse array of structures which are inherently 3-dimensional.  I decided this was worth posting because I think it plays well into the conversations about complexity that we were having yesterday.  This tiling system is much more simplistic in terms of its modules than almost all of our projects, but the effect it achieves is so much more three dimensional than most of our work, especially my own.

Leave a Reply

